Rob | 18 Jan 2005 09:00

anyone else get nailed by these spammers?

<snip>
Date: Mon, 17 Jan 2005 19:13:37 +0200
From: "Tiffany Weaver" <info@...>
To:
Subject: 2000 and THRIVE!
Reply-To: info@...
</snip>

anyone else get hit by this? normally I'd not bother too much, but in this 
case, they hit atleast 10 lists/aliases of ours, many are internal-only, 
and some are either only used for automated messages, or haven't been in 
use in years. I received it to many aliases that are never used on my 
personal systems aswell as work.

waiting for a response from them, just wanting to guage the reach of their 
spamrun from yesterday.

Regards

--Rob

=====================< IOZ >======================
 To unsubscribe, mail <majordomo@...>
with "unsubscribe ioz" in the body of your message
==================================================

Mac Anamourlis | 18 Jan 2005 09:31
Picon

RE: anyone else get nailed by these spammers?

Yeah, we got it too.

Absol Internet Business Solutions (Pty) Ltd
Mac Anamourlis | CEO
www.absol.co.za	
	
Tel: +27-12-365-2142	
Fax: +27-12-365-2271	
Cell: +27-83-264-0666	
	
AbsolPublisher - AbsolStats - AbsolBanners 	

> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-ioz@... 
> [mailto:owner-ioz@...] On Behalf Of Rob
> Sent: 18 January 2005 10:00 AM
> To: ioz@...
> Subject: [IOZ] anyone else get nailed by these spammers?
> 
> <snip>
> Date: Mon, 17 Jan 2005 19:13:37 +0200
> From: "Tiffany Weaver" <info@...>
> To:
> Subject: 2000 and THRIVE!
> Reply-To: info@...
> </snip>
> 
> anyone else get hit by this? normally I'd not bother too 
> much, but in this case, they hit atleast 10 lists/aliases of 
> ours, many are internal-only, and some are either only used 
(Continue reading)

Matthew Tagg | 18 Jan 2005 09:47
Picon

Re: anyone else get nailed by these spammers?

No but I've seen a lot of "Order Status - Tracking number S3395HH" etc going
around

Regards, Matthew

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Rob" <rob@...>
To: <ioz@...>
Sent: Tuesday, January 18, 2005 10:00 AM
Subject: [IOZ] anyone else get nailed by these spammers?

> <snip>
> Date: Mon, 17 Jan 2005 19:13:37 +0200
> From: "Tiffany Weaver" <info@...>
> To:
> Subject: 2000 and THRIVE!
> Reply-To: info@...
> </snip>
>
> anyone else get hit by this? normally I'd not bother too much, but in this
> case, they hit atleast 10 lists/aliases of ours, many are internal-only,
> and some are either only used for automated messages, or haven't been in
> use in years. I received it to many aliases that are never used on my
> personal systems aswell as work.
>
> waiting for a response from them, just wanting to guage the reach of their
> spamrun from yesterday.
>
> Regards
>
(Continue reading)

Johann Smith | 18 Jan 2005 10:12
Picon

RE: anyone else get nailed by these spammers?

Yes, just cleared 18000 mails from one of our servers

Regards,
Johann

| Johann Smith | ISP Network Administrator | storm |
| T +27 (0)21 442 4200 | F +27 (0)21 447 8044 | www.storm.co.za |

-----Original Message-----
From: owner-ioz@...
[mailto:owner-ioz@...] On Behalf
Of Matthew Tagg
Sent: 18 January 2005 10:48
To: ioz@...
Subject: Re: [IOZ] anyone else get nailed by these spammers?

No but I've seen a lot of "Order Status - Tracking number S3395HH" etc going
around

Regards, Matthew

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Rob" <rob@...>
To: <ioz@...>
Sent: Tuesday, January 18, 2005 10:00 AM
Subject: [IOZ] anyone else get nailed by these spammers?

> <snip>
> Date: Mon, 17 Jan 2005 19:13:37 +0200
> From: "Tiffany Weaver" <info@...>
(Continue reading)

Ramon Thomas | 19 Jan 2005 11:55
Picon

ebox24

Can someone please let me know if they have managed to unsubscribe from the
ebox24 newsletter? I've tried in vain and need some suggestions.

Thanks
Ramon

-
Ramon Thomas
mailto:ramon@...
http://www.netucation.co.za

Tel/Fax. +27 (011) 4331034
Mobile: +27829407137

"Insist on yourself; never imitate... Every great man is unique." Ralph
Waldo Emerson
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ralph_Waldo_Emerson

--------------------------------------------------------------
Looking for love in all the wrong places?  Meet your ideal
match at http://www.datingbuzz.co.za/s/a/500
--------------------------------------------------------------

=====================< IOZ >======================
 To unsubscribe, mail <majordomo@...>
with "unsubscribe ioz" in the body of your message
==================================================

Gregory Massel | 19 Jan 2005 12:42
Picon

SAIX ADSL address harvester

Dear SAIX abuse

[cc'ing IOZ because I'm hoping that with a collaborative effort amongst
other ISPs being hit we can trace exactly who this person is]

The following shows activity of a spammer using a SAIX ADSL account.

Please track down the user and have their account terminated and provide
the details to the ISP they subscribe to.

[root <at> groglet] /var/log/exim# netstat -tn|grep 165.165
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19637  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19636  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19635 
ESTABLISHED
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19634  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19632  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19631  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19629  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19628  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19627  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19626  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19624  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19622  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19621 
ESTABLISHED
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19620  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19619  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19618  FIN_WAIT_2
tcp4       0      0  196.41.30.100.25       165.165.202.126.19617  FIN_WAIT_2
(Continue reading)

Abdul Rehman Gani | 19 Jan 2005 12:54
Picon

ADSL bandwidth theft

Hi,

Anyone have info on how the ADSL account/usernames are being obtained  
by bandwidth thieves:-

http://www.itweb.co.za/sections/columnists/doubletake/ 
weidemann041027.asp?S=Telecoms&A=TEL&O=FRGN

http://www.itweb.co.za/sections/internet/2004/0411031243.asp? 
S=Security&A=SEC&O=FRGN

I have a client in this position. Last month he just bought another  
account, but obviously (and expectedly) he is annoyed at having to do  
so again this month. Telkom confirm that the usage has occurred from  
another line but will not proceed further without a case # from SAPS.

I wonder how that are doing this? Where is the weak spot? FWIW I use IS  
accounts.

Abdul

East Coast Access
Tel: 031-566-8080
Fax: 031-566-8010
Web: http://www.eastcoast.co.za

=====================< IOZ >======================
 To unsubscribe, mail <majordomo@...>
with "unsubscribe ioz" in the body of your message
==================================================
(Continue reading)

jc | 19 Jan 2005 13:10

Re: ADSL bandwidth theft

On Wed, 19 Jan 2005, Abdul Rehman Gani wrote:

> I wonder how that are doing this? Where is the weak spot? FWIW I use IS
> accounts.

well, in theory you using saix accounts, as we are currently still a
reseller :)

j.

#include <std-disclaimer.h> - 'save the trees, send an email'

=====================< IOZ >======================
 To unsubscribe, mail <majordomo@...>
with "unsubscribe ioz" in the body of your message
==================================================

Gregory Massel | 19 Jan 2005 13:29
Picon

Re: SAIX ADSL address harvester

Further to this, the spammer/harvester is somewhere in the greater
Pretoria or surrounding areas... close enough to locate and deliver 81339
snail-mails, each addressed from his idea of a valid sender
(someone@...).

Hostname: tbnb-165-202-126.telkomadsl.co.za

Using Telkom Tariffs program to search for the TBNB site details:

Site name: Bronberg
Site code: TBNB
National dialling code: 012
Exchange codes: 343,344,420,421,422,424,426,427,428,429,481,482,483,484,654
Region: North Eastern
Trunk Exchange: TBNB

If anyone has ideas as to how we can trace who this person is, please
share your thoughts.

There are enough spammers in the rest of the world without SA contributing
to the problem.

--Greg

=====================< IOZ >======================
 To unsubscribe, mail <majordomo@...>
with "unsubscribe ioz" in the body of your message
==================================================

(Continue reading)

Anthony Walker | 19 Jan 2005 13:34
Picon

Re: ADSL bandwidth theft

Hi

Some of the problems stem from default passwords being left on ADSL 
modems. I had to change something on a Telkom supplied and installed 
ADSL modem for someone the other day, to be told the username and 
password were root/root.

Although the ISP password is ******** in the html form on the modem, if 
you do a view source on the page its in clear text!!! So easy prey for 
anyone to scan for port 8080 on the 165. ip ranges, login as root/root 
and get the login and password.

Regards
Anthony

=====================< IOZ >======================
 To unsubscribe, mail <majordomo@...>
with "unsubscribe ioz" in the body of your message
==================================================


Gmane