Dirk Mueller | 1 Jun 2005 15:44
Picon

ns1.clamav.net blacklisted


Hi, 

the IP of ns1.clamav.net, 69.61.68.204 is blacklisted by Spamhaus:

http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/sbl.lasso?query=SBL27556

causing interruptions in mail from/to clamav.net

Dirk
_______________________________________________
http://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-devel.html

Tomasz Papszun | 1 Jun 2005 16:53
Picon

Re: ns1.clamav.net blacklisted

On Wed, 01 Jun 2005 at 15:44:28 +0200, Dirk Mueller wrote:
> 
> the IP of ns1.clamav.net, 69.61.68.204 is blacklisted by Spamhaus:
> 
> http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/sbl.lasso?query=SBL27556
> 
> causing interruptions in mail from/to clamav.net

I was under the impression that Spamhaus listing is used only for
checking SMTP clients' IP addresses (I use it myself), not for
blocking DNS requests/replies also. Am I wrong?

And I don't observe that my server doesn't accept any mail from ClamAV
MLs due to using Spamhaus.

I'm not saying that the situation isn't worth cleaning, just asking for
clarification.

--

-- 
 Tomasz Papszun    SysAdm  <at>  TP S.A. Lodz, Poland    | And it's only
 tomek at lodz.tpsa.pl http://www.lodz.tpsa.pl/iso/ | ones and zeros.
 tomek at clamav.net   http://www.ClamAV.net/   A GPL virus scanner
_______________________________________________
http://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-devel.html

Todd Lyons | 1 Jun 2005 17:21
Gravatar

Re: ns1.clamav.net blacklisted

Tomasz Papszun wanted us to know:

>> the IP of ns1.clamav.net, 69.61.68.204 is blacklisted by Spamhaus:
>> http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/sbl.lasso?query=SBL27556
>> causing interruptions in mail from/to clamav.net
>I was under the impression that Spamhaus listing is used only for
>checking SMTP clients' IP addresses (I use it myself), not for
>blocking DNS requests/replies also. Am I wrong?

It's collateral damage.  A spammer owns an IP or an IP block in the same
/23 as you.  Spamhaus attempts to hurt the ISP by having other innocent
customers complain to them so much (and potentially switch away from
them, aka voting with their wallet) that the ISP boots the spammer.
Apparently, linuxlabs has been hosting a known spammer, namely Jeffery
Peters.  It is not clear if this was intentional or not.  You have a
couple of options:
1) Get that ISP to boot Jeffery Peters and all sites created by him.
2) Get a different ISP.
3) Temporarily move your mail to a different machine (Spamhaus listings
don't affect dns operation, so dns will continue to work properly).

>I'm not saying that the situation isn't worth cleaning, just asking for
>clarification.

HTH.
--

-- 
Regards...		Todd
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty:
soap, ballot, jury, and ammo.  Please use in that order. --Ed Howdershelt
Linux kernel 2.6.11-6mdksmp   3 users,  load average: 0.15, 0.10, 0.25
(Continue reading)

Tomasz Papszun | 1 Jun 2005 17:49
Picon

Re: ns1.clamav.net blacklisted

On Wed, 01 Jun 2005 at  8:21:52 -0700, Todd Lyons wrote:
> Tomasz Papszun wanted us to know:
> 
> >> the IP of ns1.clamav.net, 69.61.68.204 is blacklisted by Spamhaus:
> >> http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/sbl.lasso?query=SBL27556
> >> causing interruptions in mail from/to clamav.net
> >I was under the impression that Spamhaus listing is used only for
> >checking SMTP clients' IP addresses (I use it myself), not for
> >blocking DNS requests/replies also. Am I wrong?
> 
> It's collateral damage.  A spammer owns an IP or an IP block in the same
> /23 as you.  Spamhaus attempts to hurt the ISP by having other innocent
> customers complain to them so much (and potentially switch away from
> them, aka voting with their wallet) that the ISP boots the spammer.
> Apparently, linuxlabs has been hosting a known spammer, namely Jeffery
> Peters.  It is not clear if this was intentional or not.  You have a
> couple of options:
> 1) Get that ISP to boot Jeffery Peters and all sites created by him.
> 2) Get a different ISP.

I haven't asked for that. I know what Spamhaus listing is for, but
thanks for the explanation anyway :-) .

> 3) Temporarily move your mail to a different machine 

Seems I wasn't clear enough. No clamav-related mail traverses that
machine, AFAIK. It's just a DNS server. That's why I asked whether any
party uses Spamhaus listing to blocking DNS-related packets or ignoring
DNS replies coming from a listed IP address.

(Continue reading)

Tomasz Papszun | 1 Jun 2005 17:53
Picon

Re: ns1.clamav.net blacklisted

On Wed, 01 Jun 2005 at 17:49:04 +0200, Tomasz Papszun wrote:
> On Wed, 01 Jun 2005 at  8:21:52 -0700, Todd Lyons wrote:
[...]
> > couple of options:
> > 1) Get that ISP to boot Jeffery Peters and all sites created by him.
> > 2) Get a different ISP.
> 
> I haven't asked for that. I know what Spamhaus listing is for, but
                  ^^^
I meant "asked _about_" (inquiried), not "asked for". Sorry.

--

-- 
 Tomasz Papszun    SysAdm  <at>  TP S.A. Lodz, Poland    | And it's only
 tomek at lodz.tpsa.pl http://www.lodz.tpsa.pl/iso/ | ones and zeros.
 tomek at clamav.net   http://www.ClamAV.net/   A GPL virus scanner
_______________________________________________
http://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-devel.html

Jef Poskanzer | 1 Jun 2005 18:04
Gravatar

Re: ns1.clamav.net blacklisted

>It's collateral damage.  A spammer owns an IP or an IP block in the same
>/23 as you.  Spamhaus attempts to hurt the ISP by having other innocent
>customers complain to them so much (and potentially switch away from
>them, aka voting with their wallet) that the ISP boots the spammer.

Only weenies pay attention to Spamhaus's list.  Or to any DNS-RBL, really.
And I don't much care whether weenies can receive my mail or not.
---
Jef

       Jef Poskanzer  jef <at> mail.acme.com  http://www.acme.com/jef/
_______________________________________________
http://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-devel.html

Dirk Mueller | 1 Jun 2005 18:18
Picon

Re: ns1.clamav.net blacklisted

On Wednesday 01 June 2005 16:53, Tomasz Papszun wrote:

> > causing interruptions in mail from/to clamav.net
> I was under the impression that Spamhaus listing is used only for
> checking SMTP clients' IP addresses (I use it myself), not for
> blocking DNS requests/replies also. Am I wrong?

No, you're right. What I'm seeing here seems to be a bug in spamassassin, 
because it does list mail from clamav.net now: 

$ spamassassin -D -t < mail_from_clamav
..
debug: URIDNSBL: query for clamav.net took 2 seconds to look up 
(sbl.spamhaus.org.:204.68.61.69)
debug: URIDNSBL: domain "clamav.net" listed (URIBL_SBL): 
"http://www.spamhaus.org/SBL/sbl.lasso?query=SBL27556"
..

Not sure why that is happening, yet. I might investigate further and file a 
bugreport. 

Dirk
_______________________________________________
http://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-devel.html

Damian Menscher | 1 Jun 2005 18:27
Picon

Re: ns1.clamav.net blacklisted

On Wed, 1 Jun 2005, Dirk Mueller wrote:
> On Wednesday 01 June 2005 16:53, Tomasz Papszun wrote:
>
>>> causing interruptions in mail from/to clamav.net
>> I was under the impression that Spamhaus listing is used only for
>> checking SMTP clients' IP addresses (I use it myself), not for
>> blocking DNS requests/replies also. Am I wrong?
>
> No, you're right. What I'm seeing here seems to be a bug in spamassassin,
> because it does list mail from clamav.net now:
>
> $ spamassassin -D -t < mail_from_clamav
> ..
> debug: URIDNSBL: query for clamav.net took 2 seconds to look up
> (sbl.spamhaus.org.:204.68.61.69)
> debug: URIDNSBL: domain "clamav.net" listed (URIBL_SBL):
> "http://www.spamhaus.org/SBL/sbl.lasso?query=SBL27556"
> ..
>
> Not sure why that is happening, yet. I might investigate further and file a
> bugreport.

I think it's happening because of the footer
    v   v   v v  v  v   v v v v v v v  v 
> _______________________________________________
> http://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-devel.html

      ^ ^ ^ ^  ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^   ^  ^   ^    ^   ^  ^

Adds a point to every message's score.
(Continue reading)

Martin Blapp | 1 Jun 2005 18:43
Picon
Favicon

Re: ns1.clamav.net blacklisted


Hi,

>> debug: URIDNSBL: query for clamav.net took 2 seconds to look up
>> (sbl.spamhaus.org.:204.68.61.69)
>> debug: URIDNSBL: domain "clamav.net" listed (URIBL_SBL):

What about using oru whitelist ?

Get http://antispam.imp.ch/rules/uribl-skips and add it to your
spamassassin config. Then you'll be on the safe side ...

Martin
_______________________________________________
http://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-devel.html

Tomasz Papszun | 1 Jun 2005 18:46
Picon

Re: ns1.clamav.net blacklisted

On Wed, 01 Jun 2005 at 11:27:28 -0500, Damian Menscher wrote:
> 
> >Not sure why that is happening, yet. I might investigate further and file a
> >bugreport.
> 
> I think it's happening because of the footer
>    v   v   v v  v  v   v v v v v v v  v 
> >_______________________________________________
> >http://lurker........net/list/clamav-devel.html
> 
>      ^ ^ ^ ^  ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^   ^  ^   ^    ^   ^  ^
> Adds a point to every message's score.
> 

I wonder if each such repeated footer causes adding another point.
As a collateral gain ;-) it might block messages from people who
repeatedly top-post and don't remove unneeded footers :-) .

--

-- 
 Tomasz Papszun    SysAdm  <at>  TP S.A. Lodz, Poland    | And it's only
 tomek at lodz.tpsa.pl http://www.lodz.tpsa.pl/iso/ | ones and zeros.
 tomek at clamav.net   http://www.ClamAV.net/   A GPL virus scanner
_______________________________________________
http://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-devel.html


Gmane